ZywOo: The Embodiment of Consistency in CS2 – Crowned Best Player of 2023

ZywOo: The Embodiment of Consistency in CS2 – Crowned Best Player of 2023

15. January 2024 by Valentin Pasetti

The HLTV Awards 2023, held in Belgrade, Serbia, was not just a gala but a testament to the unparalleled skill and consistency of Mathieu “ZywOo” Herbaut. The French AWPer from Team Vitality clinched the prestigious title of the Best Counter Strike Player in 2023, leaving no room for debate.

ZywOo’s Unchallenged Reign: A Year of Dominance

ZywOo’s performance throughout 2023 was nothing short of extraordinary. Achieving a remarkable 1.31 rating, he secured 5 trophies, including MVP titles for each. His standout victory at the Paris Major, the last CS:GO Major, underscored his dominance in the game.

kg0 Aoda5ekCchvL4UMyr scaled 1

Setting New Standards

Leading the stats in both CS:GO and Counter Strike 2, ZywOo faced no real competition throughout the year. With Oleksandr “s1mple” Kostyliev on a break and Team Vitality shining as the best team, ZywOo had the perfect stage to showcase his skills.

His third-time win as the Best Player of the Year (2019, 2020, and 2023) puts him on par with s1mple in terms of accolades.

The Elite Podium of CS2

Following ZywOo, Nikola “NiKo” Kovač from G2 Esports secured the second spot, while Robin “ropz” Kool of FaZe Clan achieved his highest position yet, landing third place in 2023.

Other Honorees at HLTV Awards 2023

The HLTV Awards celebrated various talents in the Counter Strike world:

  • Event of the Year: BLAST.tv Paris Major
  • Coach of the Year: Danny “zonic” Sørensen (Team Vitality/Team Falcons)
  • AWPer of the Year: ZywOo (Team Vitality)
  • IGL of the Year: Dan “apEX” Madesclaire (Team Vitality)
  • Closer of the Year: ropz (FaZe Clan)
  • Defender of the Year: Emil “Magisk” Reif (Team Vitality/Team Falcons)
  • Entry of the Year: NiKo (G2 Esports)
  • Play of the Year: ZywOo (Team Vitality)
  • Rookie of the Year: Guy Iluz “NertZ” (ENCE/Heroic)
  • Female Team of the Year: Nigma Galaxy
  • Female Player of the Year: Ana Dumbravă “Ana” (Nigma Galaxy)
  • Team of the Year: Team Vitality
  • Player of the Year: ZywOo

The HLTV Awards 2023: A Celebration of Excellence in Counter Strike

ZywOo’s triumph as the Best Player of 2023 is a milestone in the history of Counter Strike. His unparalleled skill and achievements set a high benchmark for upcoming talents in the esports arena.

As we move forward, it will be fascinating to see how new and existing players rise to the challenge set by ZywOo, potentially reshaping the competitive landscape of Counter Strike in the years to come.