LoL: A Comprehensive List of MSI Champions and Their Respective Rosters

LoL: A Comprehensive List of MSI Champions and Their Respective Rosters

21. April 2024 by Valentin Pasetti

After providing you with the list of all the World Championship winners in history, it’s time to unveil the champions of the other international League of Legends tournament.

Despite falling short in terms of global significance compared to the World Championship, the Mid-Season Invitational (MSI) has carved out its own place in the realm of LoL esports.

Since its inception in 2015, the MSI has become a staple event in the League of Legends competitive calendar, with several teams hoisting its coveted trophy. Let’s dive into the history of MSI champions and their respective rosters.

2015 MSI Champion: EDward Gaming

EDward Gaming MSI 2015

Inaugurating the list of MSI champions, EDward Gaming secured victory in 2015 with an impressive performance. The historic Chinese club lifted the trophy in the United States, defeating none other than SK Telecom T1 in the final, who would later go on to become world champions twice in a row.

EDward Gaming claimed China’s first international title with notable contributions from South Korean players PawN and Deft.


  • Tong Β«Koro1Β» Yang πŸ†
  • Ming Β«ClearloveΒ» Kai πŸ†
  • Heo Β«PawNΒ» Won-seok πŸ†
  • Kim Β«DeftΒ» Hyuk-kyu πŸ†
  • Tian Β«MeikoΒ» Ye πŸ†
  • Coach: Ji Β«AaronΒ» Xing πŸ†

2016 MSI Champion: SK Telecom T1

SKT MSI 2016

The 2016 MSI marked the first triumph for SK Telecom T1, led by the legendary Faker. The South Korean powerhouse, reigning world champions from 2015, showcased their dominance once again by claiming victory in the MSI.

Despite a historic run by Counter Logic Gaming in the tournament, SKT T1 emerged victorious in the final, solidifying their status as an unstoppable force in the League of Legends esports scene.


  • Lee Β«DukeΒ» Ho-seong πŸ†
  • Kang Β«BlankΒ» Sun-gu πŸ†
  • Lee Β«FakerΒ» Sang-hyeok πŸ†
  • Bae Β«BangΒ» Jun-sik πŸ†
  • Lee Β«WolfΒ» Jae-wan πŸ†
  • Coach: Kim Β«kk0maΒ» Jeong-gyun πŸ†

2017 MSI Champion: SK Telecom T1

SKT MSI 2017

Continuing their reign of dominance, SK Telecom T1 clinched their second consecutive MSI title in 2017. With the addition of Huni and Peanut to their roster, SKT T1 showcased unparalleled prowess throughout the tournament.

Their back-to-back victory marked a historic achievement in the history of the MSI, firmly establishing them as one of the most formidable teams in League of Legends history.


  • Heo Β«HuniΒ» Seung-hoon πŸ†
  • Han Β«PeanutΒ» Wang-ho πŸ†
  • Faker πŸ†πŸ†
  • Bang πŸ†πŸ†
  • Wolf πŸ†πŸ†
  • Coach: Kim Β«kk0maΒ» Jeong-gyun πŸ†πŸ†

2018 MSI Champion: Royal Never Give Up

RNG MSI 2018


In 2018, Royal Never Give Up emerged victorious in a landmark year for Chinese League of Legends. Defeating Kingzone DragonX in the final, RNG secured their first international title, with Uzi leading the charge. This triumph marked a turning point for the LPL, solidifying China’s position as a powerhouse in the global League of Legends scene.


  • Yan Β«LetmeΒ» Jun-Ze πŸ†
  • Liu Β«MlxgΒ» Shi-Yu πŸ†
  • Hung Β«KarsaΒ» Hao-Hsuan πŸ†
  • Li Β«XiaohuΒ» Yuan-Hao πŸ†
  • Jian Β«UziΒ» Zi-Hao πŸ†
  • Shi Β«MingΒ» Sen-Ming πŸ†
  • Coach: Yi Β«HeartΒ» Gwan-hyung πŸ†

2019 MSI Champion: G2 Esports

G2 MSI 2019

In 2019, G2 Esports etched their names in history by securing Europe’s first international title in eight years. With an iconic roster known for their aggressive and unconventional playstyle, G2 Esports overcame SK Telecom T1 in the final to claim victory at the MSI.

This triumph marked a significant milestone for European League of Legends and showcased the region’s resurgence on the international stage.


  • Martin Β«WunderΒ» Hansen πŸ†
  • Marcin Β«JankosΒ» Jankowsky πŸ†
  • Rasmus Β«CapsΒ» Winther πŸ†
  • Luka Β«PerkzΒ» PerkoviΔ‡ πŸ†
  • Mihael Β«MikyxΒ» Mehle πŸ†
  • Coach: Fabian Β«GrabbZΒ» Lohmann πŸ†

2021 MSI Champion: Royal Never Give Up

RNG MSI 2021

Following the hiatus caused by the COVID19 pandemic, the MSI returned in 2021, with Royal Never Give Up emerging victorious once again.

This time, RNG showcased a new generation of talent, with Xiaohu and Ming being the only returning members from their 2018 roster. With a stellar performance, RNG secured their second MSI title and solidified their status as one of the top teams in the world.


  • Xiaohu πŸ†πŸ†
  • Yang Β«XiaobaiΒ» Zhong-He πŸ†
  • Yan Β«WeiΒ» Yang-Wei πŸ†
  • Yuan Β«CryinΒ» Cheng-Wei πŸ†
  • Chen Β«GALAΒ» Wei πŸ†
  • Ming πŸ†πŸ†
  • Coaches: Chang Β«PoppyΒ» Po-Hao πŸ† and Wong Β«TabeΒ» Pak Kan πŸ†

2022 MSI Champion: Royal Never Give Up

RNG MSI 2022

In 2022, Royal Never Give Up continued their dominance by securing their third MSI title. Despite competing remotely from China, RNG defeated T1 in a thrilling final, securing their second consecutive MSI victory.

With minimal changes to their roster, RNG reaffirmed their status as the most successful team in MSI history, with Xiaohu and Ming becoming the first players to win the MSI three times.


  • Chen Β«BinΒ» Ze-Bin πŸ†
  • Wei πŸ†πŸ†
  • Xiaohu πŸ†πŸ†πŸ†
  • GALA πŸ†πŸ†
  • Ming πŸ†πŸ†πŸ†
  • Coaches: Zhu Β«KenZhuΒ» Kai πŸ† and Tabe πŸ†πŸ†

Current Champions: JD Gaming (2023)

JDG MSI 2023

In 2023, JD Gaming secured their first international title by winning the MSI. With a roster consisting of talented players, JDG emerged victorious after a remarkable performance in the tournament.

Led by Ruler, the team showcased exceptional mechanical skill and coordination, leaving a lasting impression on the League of Legends community.


  • Bai Β«369Β» Jia-Hao πŸ†
  • Seo Β«KanaviΒ» Jin-hyeok πŸ†
  • Zhuo Β«knightΒ» Ding πŸ†
  • Park Β«RulerΒ» Jae-hyuk πŸ†
  • Lou Β«MISSINGΒ» Yun-Feng πŸ†
  • Coaches: Yoon Β«HommeΒ» Sung-young πŸ† and Lu Β«ViodΒ» Fan πŸ†

Teams and Players with the Most MSI Titles:

By Team:

  • Royal Never Give Up: πŸ†πŸ†πŸ† (3)
  • SKT/T1: πŸ†πŸ† (2)
  • EDward Gaming, G2 Esports, and JD Gaming: πŸ† (1)

By Player:

  • Xiaohu and Ming: πŸ†πŸ†πŸ† (3)
  • Faker, Bang, Wolf, GALA, and Wei: πŸ†πŸ† (2)


In conclusion, the Mid-Season Invitational (MSI) has served as a platform for showcasing the prowess of top League of Legends teams from around the world.

From the early dominance of SK Telecom T1 to the recent success of JD Gaming, each MSI has contributed to the rich tapestry of competitive esports history. As the tournament continues to evolve, fans can look forward to more exhilarating moments and legendary victories in the years to come.