Understanding League of Legends MMR: Everything You Need to Know

Understanding League of Legends MMR: Everything You Need to Know

27. April 2024 by Valentin Pasetti

Matchmaking Rating (MMR) is a crucial concept in League of Legends, shaping the competitive landscape of the game. In this guide, we’ll explore what MMR is, how it functions, and the recent updates introduced by Riot Games to enhance the matchmaking experience for players.

What is MMR?

MMR, also known as elo, is a numerical value that determines a player’s skill level based on their performance in the Summoner’s Rift.

This hidden data plays a vital role in matchmaking, determining the opponents players face in matches and their respective ranks. For instance, players in the Gold tier may face Platinum-ranked opponents if they share a higher MMR, and vice versa.

Having lower MMR than expected for a given rank can pose significant challenges, reducing the LP gained from victories and increasing LP lost from defeats.

Typically, MMR is established during the beginning of the season through the ten placement matches, where Riot Games considers factors like wins, opponent skill level, and past performance. While Riot Games doesn’t provide official tools to calculate MMR, several external websites offer approximations.

1499380814 wallup 132302

Functioning of MMR in League of Legends

The year 2024 heralds significant changes to MMR calculation with the introduction of True Skill 2, announced by League of Legends‘ Lead Game Designer, August Dean “Iksar” Ayala. This new system boasts a higher accuracy rate of 68%, up from the previous 52%.

The aim is to provide fairer matchmaking for new accounts and smoother progression. True Skill 2 considers various nuances to determine player skill, including:

  • Player absences (AFKs) during matches
  • Presence of premade groups
  • Analysis of previous matches for all players
  • Comprehensive player statistics
  • Player experience (hours played)

league of legends

In addition, Riot Games introduced new ranks (Iron and Emerald) in the summer of 2023 to ensure a more balanced distribution of players across ranks. The complete rank hierarchy now includes:

  • Iron
  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum
  • Emerald
  • Diamond
  • Master
  • Grandmaster
  • Challenger



Understanding MMR is essential for players to gauge their skill level accurately and comprehend their placement within the League of Legends ranks. As Riot Games continues to refine matchmaking algorithms, players can expect a more equitable and competitive gaming experience.