Call of Duty League Receives Sports Emmy Nomination

Call of Duty League Receives Sports Emmy Nomination

12. April 2023 by miranda angeles

The Call of Duty League, held in 2022, had an impressive impact on the game’s fan community, thus receiving a Sports Emmy Award nomination. Additionally, the COD League Championship Finals receives a nomination in the “Outstanding Esports Championship Coverage”; thanks to this nomination, the COD league becomes one of Activision Blizzard’s best esports circuits.

Activision Blizzard made gaming history with the league’s final battle held in 2022. Georgia FaZe and Los Angeles Thieves faced each other during that match, generating an epic duel worth remembering. Thanks to the spectacle of this showdown, Activision Blizzard has received an Emmy Award nomination.

Call of Duty League Receives Sports Emmy Nomination

The nominees for the Sports Emmy Awards were announced yesterday, April 11; this year marks the 44th edition of the awards. For its part, Championship Finals is the only esports category that will receive an award from the Emmy Awards.

Five events have been nominated for this important award; one is the COD league finals broadcast on YouTube, coordinated by Activision Blizzard, working in conjunction with Esports Engine.

These are the five events receiving a nomination for the “Best Esports championship coverage” category:

  • COD: COD League Championship Finals 2022
  • LoL: Worlds 2022 Final
  • Dota 2 Championship: The International 11
  • CS:GO: BLAST Premier Fall Final 2022
  • VALORANT: VCT Champions 2022 Grand Final

For COD, this is the second nomination it has received for the Emmy Awards; the first was a few years ago, specifically for the 2020 finals. For that year’s finals, the teams that fought for the title of champions were Atlanta FaZe against Dallas Empire; however, they failed to win the award because the LoL final was the one that took the important award.

On the other hand, we must mention that this is the fourth nomination for Activision Blizzard to these important awards. Two nominations have been thanks to the COD league finals, and the other two have been thanks to the 2020 and 2021 Overwatch League finals.

About the Sports Emmy Awards

The Emmy Awards have not always included esports, with 2019 being a historical year as it was the first time esports were included to be awarded at this important event.

2019 was a very important year where great FIFA, Fortnite, Apex, and Rocket League events were nominated; however, the winner of the first Emmy award for esports was taken by an LoL event.

On May 22, the 44th edition of the Emmy Awards will take place, where 47 different categories will be awarded.